Evangelisation in der Uni (Karlsruhe)

Evangelisation in der Uni (Karlsruhe)

Beitragvon karnadi » Fr 18. Jun 2010, 10:24

Sorry for not using Deutsch, but here is something that I wrote:
It’s Tuesday afternoon and I entered the lecture hall to attend the weekly lecture in KIT, Karlsruhe. I’m studying Informatik there. At the start of the lecture a female student stand in front of the class giving the usual advertisement about some other lecture events held in KIT. But this time, it got my attention. The title of this heavily promoted “lecture” is “Der Urknall und die Gottesfrage”, brought by Prof. Dr. Thomas Schimmel, and it is held in Gerthsen Hörsaal, KIT on 10th June 2010. Yes, it is using the University building.

For the next 5 minutes or so the student talks and talks. She said something like this, “We know how Big Bang happened, but who made it? Why he made it?” After she spread the brochure and just when I thought it was over, I have to endure another promotional message from the lecturer himself, the professor of Elektrotechnik, KIT. He said he had visited some of the lecture series and found it interesting, and after that he is babbling about the interesting topic the lecture brings.

A friend of mine visited one of the lectures, and it was actually a lecture almost without any interaction, with only five minutes or so at the end were given to ask questions. And most (if not all) of them came from the organizers of the event themselves. For example, one of them said that the lecturer said that he didn't come to believe by his historical "analysis" of Jesus, and thus they asked him how he became a Christian.

An organization called Hochschul-SMD Karlsruhe is the organizer of the (obviously Christian) lecture series. Here is the mission from their website1):

"Uns verbindet der Glaube an unseren Herrn Jesus Christus, und wir haben es uns zur Aufgabe gesetzt, ihn an den verschiedenen Hochschulen in Karlsruhe zu bezeugen."